How to Perform iPhone Erase All Content and Settings Easily

Do you want your iPhone erase all content and settings? This guide offers simple ways to achieve Apple iPhone erase all content and settings.

Kelsey

By Kelsey / Updated on June 14, 2023

Share this: instagram reddit

Does Erase iPhone Delete Everything?

Will everything disappear through perform iPhone erase all content and settings? Well, you are not the only one with the same question. Millions of iPhone users have the same doubt. 

erase iPhone

Actually, your iPhone will be restored to a brand new device. This means that all settings will be restored to their original factory settings. It will basically erase all of your information on your iPhone, including your personal information, email accounts, system and app settings, installed apps, pictures, videos, and anything else.

However, if you have backed up your iPhone or have transferred iPhone music, contacts, video, message, etc. before erasing iPhone, you have no need to worry about erasing all content on iPhone will delete everything. Because it can be easily restored via third-party recovery tools and software. 

What is the Difference Between Reset All Settings & Erase All Content and Settings?

Reset All Settings

Reset All Settings is an option that restores your iPhone to factory settings without erasing your data. This option is effective when your iPhone encounters various issues due to changes in device settings and configuration. For instance, if your iPhone or iPad is running slow and you want to restore its performance without losing any data, selecting Reset All Settings can be a good option.

Erase All Content and Settings

Just as its name implies, Erase All Content and Settings will erase everything on iPhone, restoring it to factory settings. This feature is important for people who need to replace their iPhone or sell their iPhone, because it allows users to completely erase data, such as photos, videos, apps, email accounts, etc. Sometimes Reset All Settings option does not solve the problem. Thus, you can choose the Erase All Content and Settings option.

reset iphone

The main difference between the two is that the first one just changes the settings, while the other one resets the settings and erases the data. On account of these differences, you can choose a suitable option based on your needs. If you want to completely erase the data on your iPhone, go ahead and learn how to do it.

3 Ways to Perform iPhone Erase All Content and Settings

We offer 3 ways to erase iPhone content in the following. Please continue to read to learn about the step-by-step guide.

Way 1: Use iPhone Settings

This is the most direct way for you to erase content on iPhone with simple steps. This method is the best option for users who have backups, however, if you don't backup your iPhone in advance you will lose all your data.

1. Click Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Erase All Content and Settings.

Cellurar Data

Note: How long does erase all content and settings take on iPhone? Usually, the process of erasing all content and settings on iPhone will spend no more than 10 minutes. If you are using an old iPhone, the time of erasing is determined by the time of data deletion. It will probably spend more time. Please be patient and wait for the data to be completely erased.

Way 2: Use iTunes to Erase iPhone

Apart from the Settings of iPhone, iTunes also offers a way to help users perform iPhone erase and reset all content.

1. Download and install the latest version of iTunes on your computer.

2. Open iTunes and connect your iPhone via a USB cable.

3. Click on your device in the iTunes window.

4. Click Device > Summary Restore iPhone.

restore iPhone

Tip: If you haven’t backed up your iPhone, select Back Up Now before restoring.

Way 3: Use the Great Alternative to Erase and Reset iPhone

The above are two methods that Apple offers to help users perform to iPhone erase all content and settings. Actually, there are many third-party tools that also offer data erase features. The best alternative we recommend is FoneTool, an iOS data eraser tool that can permanently erase all iPhone data to protect personal data. It not only can eraser iPhone, but also help you easily and safely transfer data between iPhone and iPhone, or between iPhone and PC. 

Exclusive features of FoneTool:
★Deeply erase data to prevent recovery: It supports most iPhone models, from iPhone 14/13/12/11, iPad 8/Air 4, and also supports iOS 16/15.
★Safety and security: FoneTool will overwrite and erase the data multiple times to ensure that the privacy files in iPhone are not at risk of being restored.
★Widely compatible: You can perform iOS erase all content and settings with simple and straightforward steps. 
★Simple operation: It will erase safely, personal information and data will not be obtained by any hacking software during the process.

Please click the download button below to have a try.

Download FreewareWin 11/10/8.1/8/7/XP
Secure Download

1. Connect your iPhone to computer via the USB cable.

2. Click Toolbox > iPhone Eraser on the Home page.

erase iPhone

3. Tick the option: I have understood the consequence of erasing data, and I am sure to erase data.

erase option

Then there are two options available:

● Automatically activate iPhone and ignore initial settings.

● Deeply erase data to prevent recovery.

4. Click Erase iPhone.

degin erase

Tip: If the Find My iPhone function is enabled, you should enter your Apple ID and passcode to erase the iPhone.

Conclusion

That’s all for how to perform iPhone erase all content and settings, if you want to erase content on iPhone to prevent recovery, let your most intimate backup helper - FoneTool help you safely and permanently erase all iPhone data.