I’ve been thinking about cleaning out my phone and I have a burning question - if I delete WhatsApp, will I lose all my precious photos and stuff? Is there any way to secure them before hitting the delete button?
If you delete the WhatsApp app from your iPhone, your photos and media files are not immediately deleted. WhatsApp stores these files in your iPhone’s local storage or in a separate media folder. When you uninstall the WhatsApp app, it deletes the app itself, but usually does not delete your chats or media files from your device.
However, it is important to note that if you still want to delete your chats and media files, you will need to back up your WhatsApp manually before uninstalling it. You can do this:
Step 1: Launch WhatsApp on your iPhone > Access the Settings menu > Navigate to the Chat Backup section.
Step 2: Simply tap Back Up Now to generate an immediate backup. Optionally, you can enable the auto backup feature to securely back up your WhatsApp data on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
If you want to delete your media files (such as photos and videos) permanently, you can manually delete them from your device storage after uninstalling WhatsApp. If not, keep in mind that if you reinstall WhatsApp in the future and restore your chats from a backup, the media files associated with your chats will also be restored.
In addition, if you want to transfer WhatsApp from your old iPhone to your new iPhone, you can make use of FoneTool – a free and safe WhatsApp data transfer tool.
All-in-one mobile data manager helps you backup, transfer, manage data on your iOS and Android devices quickly and easily.
1Connect both iPhones to your PC using USB cables > Run FoneTool > Choose WhatsApp Manager on the left-hand navigation bar.
2Locate and click WhatsApp Transfer > Find your source device and the target device listed > Click the Start Transfer button.
3Then, a warning message pops up, and continue to click Confirm > Enter your passcode and click OK if your iPhone runs on iOS 16 or a later version.
If I uninstall WhatsApp and reinstall it, will my conversations be deleted? Here is the answer!
Will messages still be delivered if you delete WhatsApp on your iPhone? Well, this post will give the answer.
Can I reactivate my WhatsApp account with the same number if I delete it? Let’s check the answer in this post!